

Jim McMahon OBE MP Minister of State for Local Government and English Devolution 2 Marsham Street London SW1P 4DF **Kent Council Leaders**

c/o Partnerships Team County Hall Maidstone Kent ME14 1XQ

Phone: 03000 416 858 Ask for: Tim Woolmer

Email: kentcouncilleaders@kent.gov.uk

21 March 2025

Dear Minister of State,

Kent Interim Plan for Local Government Reorganisation

Thank you for your letter dated 05 February 2025 inviting Leaders of all 14 Local Authorities across Kent & Medway to submit an interim plan for reorganisation of Local Government in our county.

We are pleased to be able to respond collectively setting out our joint and collaborative approach to reorganisation. This includes where we have got to at this early checkpoint, our strong aspiration to be able to submit a full business case by the 28 November 2025 deadline and the plans in place to complete the work necessary in the interim to enable us to do so.

Whilst not currently included within the Devolution Priority Programme, we in Kent are still in the pursuit of the very best devolutionary arrangements for all of our residents and we are keen to ensure that any reorganisation is completed in full alignment with, and through the prism of, achieving full devolution at the earliest opportunity. To that effect, within our interim plan, we set out our rationale as for why that is so critical and specifically what makes Kent with our size and scale, coterminous boundaries, and strategic position as the international gateway to the UK exceptional in that regard.

We are grateful for the time you and your civil servants have set aside to work with us to this point and we look forward to continuing to work closely with your team and MHCLG colleagues in progressing our work around both devolution and reorganisation in the coming months.

Yours sincerely,

Kent and Medway Council Leaders

Noel Ovenden

Leader, Ashford Borough Council

Jon Kon

Jeremy Kite MBE

Leader, Dartford Borough Council

Jim Martin

Leader, Folkestone & Hythe District Council

Roger Gough

Leader, Kent County Council

Vince Maple

Leader, Medway Council

Tim Gibson

Leader, Swale Borough Council

Matt Boughton

Jouncil Council

Alan Baldock

Leader, Canterbury City Council

Kevin Mills

Leader, Dover District Council

Burden

John Burden

Leader, Gravesham Borough Council

med.off

Stuart Jeffery

Leader, Maidstone Borough Council

Roddy Hogarth

Leader, Sevenoaks District Council

Rick Everitt

Leader, Thanet District Council

Ben Chapelard

Leader, Tunbridge Wells Borough Council